Researchers Directory

Researchers of the Canadian Multicentre Osteoporosis Study are affiliated with several Universities across the country.

Researcher & Organization

Dr. Tassos Anastassiades Queen's University

Dr. Rick Adachi McMaster University

Dr. Louis Bessette Laval University

Dr. Steven Boyd University of Calgary

Dr. Jacques Brown Laval University

Dr. Angela Cheung Toronto General Research Institute

Dr. K. Shawn Davison Saskatoon Osteoporosis Centre

Dr. David Goltzman McGill University

Dr. David Hanley University of Calgary

Wilma Hopman Kingston General Hospital

Dr. Stuart Jackson University of Alberta

Dr. Robert Josse University of Toronto

Dr. Carol Joyce Memorial University

Dr. Stephanie Kaiser Dalhousie University

Dr. Shirin Kalyan University of British Columbia

Dr. Susan Kirkland Dalhousie University

Dr. Christopher Kovacs Memorial University

Dr. Nancy Kreiger University of Toronto

Dr. Brian Lentle University of British Columbia

Dr. William D. Leslie University of Manitoba

Dr. Suzanne Morin McGill University

Dr. Timothy M. Murray University of Toronto

Dr. Wojciech Olszynski University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou McMaster University

Dr. Millan Patel University of British Columbia

Dr. Jerilynn Prior University of British Columbia

Dr. Elham Rahme McGill University

Dr. Brent Richards McGill University

Dr. Alan Tenenhouse McGill University

Dr. Tanveer E. Towheed Queen's University

Dr. Andy Kin On Wong University of Toronto

Featured Researcher

Dr. Lentle is a Professor Emeritus of radiology at the University of British Columbia and consultant radiologist to the Osteoporosis Clinic at the Women’s Health Centre in Vancouver. He serves as radiologist to the Steroid-Induced Osteoporosis in a Pediatric Population (STOPP) Study. Dr. Lentle is also Chair of the Facility Accreditation Quality Team for bone densitometry of the Ontario Association of Radiologists. Dr. Lentle has published over 160 scientific articles and numerous book chapters. He is a Board member of the International Society of Clinical Densitometry, chair of their Vertebral Fracture Assessment Committee, a former board member of the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) and a past-president of the RSNA and of the Canadian Association of Radiologists. Dr. Lentle is an Honorary Member of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine and the European Society of Radiology. He has been awarded the gold medal of the Canadian Association of Radiologists and the Radiological Society of North America.

Prestigious Research
Fellowship Award

Osteoporosis Canada (OC) and Canadian Multicentre Osteoporosis Study (CaMos) were partnered in 2009 to provide a joint Fellowship Research Award in the amount of $20,000 for a 1 (one) year period. This award is granted to a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow to pursue research training with a CaMos investigator. The goal of the award is to support bright, young minds in the field to increase research capacity and expedite the development of strategies for the prevention, diagnosis and management of osteoporosis within Canada.

We received a number of strong applications since 2009 and the OC-SAC Application review committee was very impressed with the quality of all the proposals.

OC and CaMos are proud to announce the successful recipient for 2018.

Study Time Frame

  • The 5 year study (Phase 1) was completed in 2002.
  • The 10 year study (Phase 2) was completed between 2005 and 2008.
  • The Youth Cohort Study was completed in 2009.
  • The 16 year study (Phase 2) was completed between 2012 and 2014.

Study Leaders

David Goltzman National Principal investigator

Dr. David Goltzman is  National Principal investigator.  He is Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Physiology at McGill University and Director of the Clinical Bone Centre at the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC).

Nancy Kreiger National Principal Investigator

Dr. Nancy Kreiger is National Principal Investigator. She is Professor of Epidemiology in the Departments of Nutritional Sciences and Public Health Sciences at the University of Toronto and Director of Research in the Division of Preventive Oncology at Cancer Care Ontario.

Camos Mission

To be the premier study:

That assesses the burden of osteoporosis and fracture in Canadian women and men;

That identifies factors associated with osteoporosis and fracture which lead to improved diagnosis and prevention;

That measures the health and economic consequences of osteoporosis and fracture.

Funding agencies

Government of Canada

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) is the major federal agency responsible for funding health research in Canada.

Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Pharmaceutical Industry

Non Government Organizations

The mission of The Arthritis Society is to search for the underlying causes and subsequent cures for arthritis, and to promote the best possible care and treatment for people with arthritis.

The Arthritis Society

Dairy Farmers of Canada is the national policy, lobbying and promotional organization representing Canada's 16,000 dairy farms.

Dairy Farmers of Canada

Whoever you are we work to improve your bone health